Maccabees Traders

Maccabees Traders
 
Asian Fusion Restaurant
Veggie spring rolls, steamed pork buns & drunken noodles served in stylish, traditional surrounds.
5057 Woodward Ave, Detroit, MI 48202
 (313) 831-9311

Hi there. Been a while since I posted. Busy, busy, busy with school and my internship. I miss posing to you all.

So, Sunday we went to Maccabees Traders on Woodward. I am bummed I missed this place for so long. Outstanding food. The Bar buns were incredible: Crispy Brussels sprouts and avocado tossed in sriracha mayo, green onion, hoisin sauce. Yum. The bread was soft and plain but it allowed the flavor of the fillings to shine, and shine they did. At $8 for two it was a nice appetizer. The also have crispy salt & pepper tofu (V/G) buns with peppers, cilantro, rice powder for $7, roasted duck buns with green onion, hoisin sauce for $9 and chili & lime glazed tiger shrimp buns with green onion, sriracha mayo, hoisin sauce for $9. A definite must try.

The Tom Kha was also quite good. not your usual Tom Kha this was made with spicy coconut, lime & lemongrass broth with carrot, parsnip & sweet potato for a spicy, slightly sweet bowl that was a real pleasure.

For our entree we each got a rice bowl. I had the sesame fried rice bowl with crispy salt & pepper tofu (V) and a fried egg on top. At $7 for the bowl and $2 for the added tofu it was reasonably priced and I could not finish the bowl.

John had the coconut jasmine rice bowl with a fried egg. He chose not to have the tofu, but felt he would next time. It felt a little lacking, but at $6 was very reasonable.

I was very pleased with the meal. The food was done nicely, presented quickly and just enough of a fusion that I felt I was eating somewhere fun and new.

Well worth the trip. I will be back. I have to have the drunken noodles…go ahead… google them and look at the menu. You will be enticed as was I.

Leave a comment