PJ’s Lager House

1254 Michigan Ave, Detroit, MI 48226     (313) 961-4668

Happy Father’s Day to all the great Dads out there.

Well, today we made the promised return to PJ’s Lager House for the weekend brunch and we were not disappointed. This place is definitely on my top 10 list.

Brunch starts at 10:30 am and we arrived at a few minutes after 11:00. By 11:30 almost every table was filled. So a tip: arrive early if you do not want to wait. Even every stool at the bar was filled too. And they even filled the band area with tables. It is a popular brunch.

I had been waiting to get to this brunch and was not disappointed in any way. First, let me say, the Bloody Mary’s are awesome (with Grey Goose vodka)! I had the Vegan Biscuits and gravy which I knew I had to have as soon as I saw it one the menu when we were last there. As a vegetarian you get little opportunity to have biscuits and gravy. When I was a kid, the only meal my dad ever cooked that I remember was Sunday morning Biscuits and Sausage gravy.  I learned how to make it and it became my kids favorite and my daughter makes it to this day for her husband. So, biscuits  and gravy have a special place in my heart.

The biscuits were dense and chewy on the bottom and seasoned with Rosemary and sage. The gravy was savory and yummy. The dish also came with a tofu scramble and red potatoes. I did eat every bite and refrained from licking the plate, barely.

John had the Avocado egg with an avocado halved and each one filled with an egg that is baked and finished with a nice spicy sauce. It came with a really nice lettuce mix and gorilla chips and he had the Avalon Bakery rye toast.

There are any other greta things on the brunch menu including an egg scramble, a frittata, Avalon Corktown Cinnamon Raisen French Toast and an awesome build your own menu on the back of the menu.

You can build your own breakfast tacos, burrito or scramble with a ton of options. They have tempeh bacon and soy sausage for the meatless and besides the Avalon Bakery organic bread they have a gluten free option too.

I just cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. The next venture will be to go on  band night and check out the music. But for now, enjoy the food.

Leave a Reply

