Toast

 23144 Woodward Ave, Ferndale, MI 48220

So, I have been pretty busy lately, and John’s weekend hours have changed so we have not been out to eat as much. But, last week we made it to Toast in Ferndale and I have been waiting for this visit!

Toast is located in Ferndale in that area where some fun and cool food things are going on. (Greenspace, Rosie O’Grady’s, One-eyed Betty’s). As usual we were there for breakfast which seems to be what we eat out the most of. O have been hearing and seeing some good things about Toast so I was excited to finally have a chance to try the food.

The space is small and noisy, which is a detriment for John’s hearing aids but we manage. The menu is loaded with choices and the meat options you can add are listed at the bottom which is a really cool thing for me to see. The omelets are listed with all the ingredients and then you can add ( OR NOT!!!) a meat choice, orrrrrr, a veggie patty or tofu. Sweeeeeeet!

John had the Faroe Island Scrambler: 3 eggs scrambled, house cured salmon, fresh herbs, chevre cheese, mini lemon-spinach salad with tomatoes, pine nuts, olives, served with a baguette. It was really good. They house cure the salmon here and they do an amazing job of it. I will definitely have this the next time we go.

I ordered the Veggie Burrito, and I either I just said Burrito (in my excitement) or he did not hear the Veggie part in front of Burrito (again, pretty noisy) and he brought me an amazing looking burrito!! And then I cut into it and in horror (gasp!) asked John in a whisper, “Is that MEAT?” “Sure looks like it,” he said.

Well, dang, I had to call the waiter over and explain. He was really sweet about it and they did not charge us for two burritos. I hope they enjoyed it int he kitchen cause I had not eaten it, only cut the end off.

Anyway, the burrito had scrambled eggs, green peppers, red onion, black beans, potatoes, kale, tomato, cauliflower couscous, green chili, cheddar, guacamole and  smoked tomato crema (this crema was what sold me on ordering the burrito, and it was worth it.

We also ordered the loaded home fries, which are not on the menu, but hopefully your wait person suggests it. They came with sautéed onion, green peppers, cheese and seasoning and they were crunchy and browned on the outside and soft on the inside. YUM. The best. We had coffee, but next time I may order the Bloody Mary or one of the awesome looking coffee and booze drinks they had on the menu.

We went on a Thursday morning and it was packed, so go early or be ready for a wait, especially on the weekend, and ENJOY.

Leave a comment